Keppel MP picked for tourism committee

MEMBER for Keppel Bruce Young has been picked as one of eight MPs for the Newman Government's Backbench Tourism Committee.

The initiative is part of the State Government's Tourism Strategy.

Tourism Minister Jann Stuckey said it was vital the many regions across Queensland had their voices heard.

"Members will work to identify specific tourism opportunities in their regions, and what else can be done to bolster visitor numbers in their areas," she said.

"This whole-of-government approach underpins our DestinationQ strategy that will deliver benefits to all of Queensland."

The DestinationQ Forum will be held later this month and will set the agenda for the revival of tourism across the State.

The eight member Committee will comprise of Cairns MP Gavin King (Chair), Whitsundays MP Jason Costigan, Burleigh MP Michael Hart, Redlands MP Peter Dowling, Pine Rivers MP Seath Holswich, Keppel MP Bruce Young, Burnett MP Stephen Bennett, and Townsville MP John Hathaway.

Topics:  bruce young state government